Public Relations

Right Now, You’re NOT Working!

IIt’s important to have a circle of business colleagues who support you along this crazy journey of success. I have a small circle of PR colleagues, mavens and associates whom I can depend on for advice, feedback and at times pull me away from always being in “work mode.”  I am an extreme work alcoholic, always in PR mode 24/7, 365 days of the year. I will share; my personal life takes a back seat to my career. Right now, I am learning to have more balance between my personal and business affairs. When I started a career in Public Relations, I was so determined to make my mark in this business and become a top-tier publicist. In working in public relations, you make many sacrifices. For me, it was my personal life. I remembered one vacation, a childhood friend and I went to Miami. The entire trip, I was in a business mode. Later, she shared that I need to slow down and relax. She admired my hustle, my grind, but also felt that I no longer need to go hard anymore because I have achieved and accomplished so much. At first, I was baffled. I stated to her, the motto in this business, “Go HARD or Go HOME!” She shared her concern that I needed to have balance and to let my talents speak for itself. I no longer need to oversell my abilities – and I have a track record, which is continuously growing. I was taken back; however, I understood where she was coming from. Today, when I get together with friends for entertainment purposes, I have a PR friend who always pulls me aside when she sees that I am about to go into my “PR Mode FULL BLAST,” grabs me by the arm, looks me in the eye and says, “Right Now, You’re Not Working!” Each time she does that; it brings me to reality to fall back, relax and enjoy life.

Respectfully,

view (1)

Leave a Reply

